Kerala Blasters FC

Kerala Blasters Football Club is an Indian professional football club based in Kochi, Kerala. Kerala Blasters FC was established on 24 May 2014 and began their first professional season a few months later in October 2014. The team name comes from one of their owners, former Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar.

Inaugural season
The club played their first ever match on 13 October 2014 against NorthEast United at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium by losing 1–0. In the final of Indian Super League Kerala Blasters was defeated 1–0 by Atlético de Kolkata.

2015 season
Fortunes failed to change for the Kerala Blasters as the club ended their second season in last place, failing to qualify for the Indian Super League finals.

2016 season
After failing to qualify for the finals the previous season, the Kerala Blasters announced the signing of former Crystal Palace manager Steve Coppell as head coach.
In the final, the Kerala Blasters would play host to Atlético de Kolkata. The Blasters took the lead early through Mohammed Rafi before Kolkata equalized soon after. The match went into a penalty shootout, despite taking the lead early in the shootout, the Kerala Blasters lost 4–3 and thus were defeated in their second final in three seasons
A total of 16 teams will play in the tournament and the top four teams of the tournament will qualify for the 2019 FIFA U-17 World Cup as the AFC representatives.

2017–18 season
After losing in the previous season finals, Blasters appointed former Manchester United manager René Meulensteen as their new manager. Blasters released all their foreign players and signed new players including former Manchester United players Dimitar Berbatov, Wes Brown and Paul Rachubka. They brought back their leading goalscorer from the first season Iain Hume. But they had only one victory in their first 8 games in the season, leading to the sacking of René Meulensteen. They brought back the fan favorite manager David James as their new manager . But James either could do much, Blasters managed 5 wins in the remaining 10 fixtures and finished 6th in the 2017-18 Indian Super League season. Blasters had little success in the Super Cup.

2018–19 season
After failing to qualify for the playoffs last season, Blasters made a 3-year deal with manager David James. With a new roster Blasters Looked to bounce back. But they had their worst season ever. They won only 1 and drawn 6 in their 12 fixtures leading to the sacking of David James. After the international break midway through the season Blasters appointed Nelo Vingada as their new manager for remaining 6 fixtures. But team again managed only 1 win and drawn 3 in the remaining 6 fixtures and finished 9th in the league. The Super Cup also was disaster for the club as they were knocked out in the Qualification Round of the tournament.

2019–20 season

After a disastrous previous season.The Blasters are looking for making a serious come back as they've appointed Dutch man Eelco Schattorie as their new manager. They've also released all the foreign players and signed a new roster of foreign players and Indians including Cameroonian, Raphaël Messi Bouli and Nigerian, Bartholomew Ogbeche as foreign forwards and Brazilian Jairo Rodriguez & Dutchman, Gianni Zuiverloon and Senegalese Moustapha Gning as defenders. Blasters have a Spanish duo in the midfield in form of Mario Arques and Sergio Cidoncha.

Coaching staff
Position                     Name
Head coach               Eelco Schattorie
Assistant coach         Ishfaq Ahmed

Kerala Blasters FC players for the 2019-20 season

Forwards: Bartholomew Ogbeche, Mohammad Rafi, Raphaël Messi Bouli

Midfielders:  Sahal Abdul Samad, Rahul KP, Jeakson Singh, Samuel Lalmuanpuia, Sergio Cidoncha, Halicharan Narzary, Darren Caldeira, Prasanth KaruthadathkuniSeityasen Singh, Moustapha Gning, Mario Arqués, 

 Courage Pekuson, Loken Meitei, Seiminlen Doungel, Ajith Sivan, Jishnu Balakrishnan, Sahal Abdul Samad, Siam Hanghal

DefendersSandesh JhinganMohammad Rakip, Jairo Rodrigues, Raju Gaikwad, Jessel Carneiro,
Lalruatthara, Pritam Kumar Singh, LalthakimaGianni ZuiverloonAbdul Hakku

Goalkeepers Rehenesh TP, Bilal Khan, Shibinraj Kunniyil


Popular posts from this blog

Kerala Blasters Football schools online registration form

Admissions opens for the Gokulam Kerala FC football academy

Jharkhand FC Football Trials

United Bengal Football Academy trials in Kolkata

FC Imphal City football trails for U-13, U-15 and U-18 players

U-13, U-15 and U-18 Football Trials for Minerva Punjab Football Club

Delhi United FC football trials

AU Rajasthan Football Club Football trials

2018 Hero Super Cup: Kerala Blasters players list